Kylie Stothers is the sector’s Unsung Hero

29 March 2011

Katherine-based social worker Kylie Stothers has been recognised as the friends of the Alliance Unsung Hero – representing the thousands of individuals who, like her, provide the energy, compassion and competence that binds together the rural and remote health sector throughout Australia.
The presentation to Kylie was made in Perth by Janie Smith, Chair of friends of the Alliance.
“Not only does Kylie demonstrate strong and continuing commitment to her work but she also has the balance and energy to be a caring daughter, and a loving mother and wife,” Janie said.
Kylie was nominated for the Unsung Hero Award by Faye McMillan, President of Indigenous Allied Health Australia, which Kylie serves as a Committee of Management member.
“Kylie has tremendous passion and dedication to remote and rural issues,” Ms McMillan said.
“She has great capacity to consider the bigger picture issues affecting the rural and remote health sector – especially the advancement of Torres Strait Islander and Aboriginal people. Kylie is warm, encouraging, fair and ethical, and incredibly generous of spirit, time and knowledge. That makes her a wonderful role model for every member of our community,” Ms McMillan said.
A Jawoyn woman, Kylie has worked throughout the Northern Territory since graduating in 1999. Her wish is to see local people gain quality education and come back to their communities with knowledge and skills that can help provide change for their communities.
Brenda Masutti, from the Royal Flying Doctor Service in Cairns, won the prestigious Louis Ariotti Memorial Award, sponsored by the Toowoomba Hospital Foundation (THF), in recognition of her long-term innovation and excellence in rural and remote health. The THF’s Rural and Remote Health Research Awards went to Sue Charlton, physiotherapist from South Australia, and Priya Martin, OT from Rockhampton. Other worthy award winners in Perth were the three Des Murray Scholars: Ashleigh McArthur (Queensland), Stephanie Tran (NSW) and Jess Lopes (NT).