Geri Malone leads new NRHA Executive

17 September 2015
Geri Malone, Director of Professional Services with CRANAplus, is the new Chair of the National Rural Health Alliance. CRANAplus is the professional body for remote health.
Geri is a Registered Nurse and Midwife. The main focus of her professional career has been in the remote and rural sector in clinical practice with the Royal Flying Doctor Service, mine site work, management, policy and education roles. Geri has also worked overseas with the International Committee of the Red Cross in Somalia, and has completed a Masters in Public Health.
Upon taking office, Geri paid tribute to the work over two years of the outgoing Chair, Tim Kelly, Chief Executive Officer of the Adelaide to Outback Regional Training Program. "Tim has led us effectively at a time of important development, with a strong commitment to multi-professional health care teams."
"I'm delighted I will have the benefit of Tim's ongoing support in his position as a member of the Board," Geri said.
Geri also paid special tribute to Nicole O'Reilly, who stepped down after five years on the Alliance Board, three of them as Treasurer. The new Treasurer is Lyndon Seys, Chief Executive Officer of Alpine Health in north east Victoria.
Tanya Lehmann, President of Services for Rural and Remote Allied Health (SARRAH) and Senior Allied Health Manager with South Australia Health Department, was elected Deputy Chair. John Dennehy, Accredited Exercise Physiologist and representative on Council of Exercise and Sports Science Australia (ESSA), was elected to the Board for the first time.
Continuity on the NRHA Board is assured by the re-election of Kathy Kirkpatrick as Secretary; and Greg Mundy, Chief Executive Officer of Rural Health Workforce Australia, and Gordon Stacey, experienced health service manager from Western Australia, as Ordinary Members.
A full list of NRHA Board and Council Members can be found on the Alliance website at: under the ‘About us’ tab.
Media Enquiries: 

Gordon Gregory - Executive Director: 02 6285 4660