Des Murray scholars help lead the way for their local communities

15 April 2013

The Des Murray Scholarship is again supporting the attendance at the National Rural Health Conference of a small group of people who have already shown outstanding commitment to their local community and whose leadership in the future will help ensure a bright future for rural and remote communities.

For the 12th Conference in Adelaide there are three recipients: Phillip Merrdi Wilson from the Nauiyu community at Daly River in the Northern Territory, Hannah Licul from Broken Hill, and Lucy Mercer from Peterborough in South Australia.

The Des Murray Scholarships are awarded to selected young people who are from a remote area and who are committed to improving the health of people in their region.

Des was a rural health leader in the public service before he worked for the National Rural Health Alliance. He supported many self-help initiatives in rural and remote areas and the scholarships in his name carry on his work.

Phillip Merrdi Wilson is training to be an Aboriginal Health Practitioner. He has completed his Certificate III and is now enrolled in Certificate IV. A successful artist whose paintings tell the story of his culture, Phillip has exhibited in national and international galleries.

Hannah Licul has contributed a great deal to her community. She holds the office of Treasurer in Active Broken Hill and is also involved in the Army Cadets and is on the Board of Lifeline. Hannah works at Outback Pharmacies and volunteers at the Broken Hill Hospital Auxiliary.

In 2012 Lucy Mercer completed a Certificate III in Allied Health in addition to her Year 12 studies and is a very positive role model for her peers. She is committed to her local community and is a strong advocate for positive changes at her school. Among other awards she has earned, Lucy won the Australian Defence Force Academy (ADFA) Leadership Scholars prize for Citizenship in 2011 and 2012.

These dynamic young leaders will be among 900 or more delegates in Adelaide for the 12th National Rural Health Conference, 7-10 April.

Media Enquiries: 

Gordon Gregory – Executive Director: 02 6285 4660
Penny Hanley – Media Advisor: 02 6285 4660
Leanne Coleman – Conference Manager: 02 6285 4660