Wed 7 March - Sat 10 March 2007


The Louis Ariotti Award

The Toowoomba Hospital Foundation presented the Louis Ariotti Award for Excellence and Innovation in Rural and Remote Practice.
The Award of $1000 recognises innovation and excellence in a contribution to rural and remote health in the areas of research, policy, leadership, workforce issues and services development.
The Louis Ariotti Award went to Dr Peter Macneil, Ms Nancye Piercy and Dr Geraldine Duncan.

The Des Murray Scholarships

Des Murray was the senior officer in rural health for the Commonwealth in the early days and later worked for the Alliance. The scholarships are for young people coming from a remote area, and this year three scholarships have been awarded:

1. Robyn McKinnon, community worker with Northern Tasmania Development.

2. Rue Kwedza works for the Mt Isa Community Health Service covering an area from Dajarrra to the south, to Karumba in the north.

3. Lani Newton, youth worker with the Eastern Eyre Health and Aged Care Service in South Australia, serving the towns, schools and children of Cleve, Cowell and Kimba – a combined population of 4,475 in 11,500 sq. kms.


Infront Outback Research Grants for Rural and Remote Health

The Toowoomba Hospital Foundation sponsored the "Infront Outback" Research Grants Program to promote and support health-related research relevant to practice and policy in Australian rural and remote health. The "Infront Outback" Research Grants are seeding grants to support research in rural or remote health. The grants program was established in conjunction with the Cunningham Centre and Infront/Outback (the Biennial Australian Rural and Remote Health Scientific Conference).
The "Infront Outback" Research Grant was awarded to the Australian Health Care Reform Alliance in conjunction with the Health Issues Centre.

NICS Evidence into Action Prize        

The National Institute of Clinical Studies (NICS) awarded a $1000 prize for the paper or poster that best demonstrated improving health care by closing an identified gap between the available evidence and clinical practice, within Australian health care settings.
The NICS Evidence into Action Prize was awarded to Jo Lawrence, Fran Peterie, Simon Milligan, Greater Southern Area Health Service, NSW.
NICS is funded by the Australian Government.

friends photographic festival

The winner of the friends photographic festival is Angela Titmuss. Click on the image below to see the winning photo in a higher resolution.

Lake Gregory, north of Mulan community WA: A school holiday recreation program (involving more than 2000km of driving) which combined young people from Walungurru NT and Balgo WA.


GPET Biennial Rural Registrar Award          

The newly-established GPET Biennial Rural Registrar Award is awarded every second year at the National Rural Health Conference. In 2007 the successful registrar received registration, travel, accommodation and expenses to attend the 9th Biennial National Rural Health Conference held in Albury on 7-10 March 2007.

Eligible registrars are in their third or fourth year of training. They have demonstrated a commitment to rural practice during their training in terms of seeking out experiences to equip them for a future career in medicine which they plan to pursue in a remote or rural area. And the winner is Dr Rafi Ahmed. 

Home - Customer Service Policy - Privacy Statement - Contact - Site Map